Doug Mayers, MD

Dr. Mayers is the Chief Medical Officer and a co-founder of Antios Therapeutics. He was most recently Chief Medical Officer at Cocrystal Pharma (NASDAQ: COCP) developing antiviral drugs against Hepatitis B, Hepatitis C and influenza viruses. Notably, in 2007, Dr. Mayers was named Executive Vice President and Chief Medical Officer at Idenix Pharmaceuticals where he was responsible for drug safety and clinical development for therapies targeting HIV, Hepatitis B and Hepatitis C. After Idenix was acquired by Merck Pharmaceuticals (NYSE: MRK) in 2014, he served for a year as a Principal Investigator at the United States Army Medical Research Institute of Infectious Diseases coordinating efforts to develop drugs against Ebola and MERS coronavirus. Dr. Mayers was commissioned into the United States Navy in 1981 and retired after 38 years of service as a Captain, initially serving as a Staff Internist and rising to Department Head, Division of Retrovirology, where he was responsible for directing HIV natural history studies and clinical trials at Army, Navy and Air Force sites domestically. In 1998, Dr. Mayers left Navy active duty to become the Head of the Division of Infectious Diseases at Henry Ford Hospital. He served as Principal Investigator for the NIH-funded clinical trials unit and conducted NIH-funded clinical trials of antiviral drugs and the clinical implications and management of HIV drug resistance. In 2001, he moved to Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals as the International Head/Vice President of the Therapeutic Area Virology where he was responsible for the therapeutic area strategy and global clinical development and support for antiviral drugs including Nevirapine and Tipranavir.

Dr. Mayers has served as a consultant to the Food and Drug Administration, as a member of numerous Federal and National Institute of Health committees, study sections, and advisory groups. He has authored numerous publications and is the editor for the two-volume textbook, Antimicrobial Drug Resistance, and is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians and the Infectious Disease Society of America.

He received the Jay P. Sanford Award for lifetime professional achievement from the Armed Forces Infectious Disease Society. He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Electrical Engineering from Penn State University, and an M.D. from the University of Pennsylvania.